Middlesex County Public Library

Your Library Card

Getting a card, renewing materials, placing holds, etc.

Who can get a card

Anyone in good standing with the library and over the age of 16 may obtain a library card. Children may obtain a library card when they can write their name. Parents or guardians are responsible for all materials checked out on cards of children under the age of 16. So that the child’s card can be linked to the responsible party, the parent or guardian must have a library card before the child can obtain one. There is no charge for the first library card issued to a patron.

How to Get Your Card

Patrons must complete an application for a library card and show proof of identification and address (driver’s license, passport or visa with correct address; bank statement, utility bill with correct address). Patrons may take an application home to fill out and then bring it back with the proof of identification and address.

Borrowing Limits

Books and audiobooks are borrowed for a period of 3 weeks. DVDs are borrowed for 2 weeks. MCPL may limit the number of high-demand items that a patron may check out at one time. No reference materials may be removed from the library. The most current issues of magazines and newspapers may be read on premises, but may not be checked out. Patrons may not clip items from either of these publications. No materials may be borrowed by anyone with unpaid fines exceeding $5.00.

Placing Holds

Holds may be placed on most materials. There is no charge for holds. Patrons may place holds themselves on the online catalog at https://mcpl.evergreenva.org/eg/opac/home using their library card barcode and the PIN in their record or by asking staff to place holds on their behalf.

Renewing Your Borrowed Items

If no other patron has requested a book, audiobook, or magazine, the items may be renewed for one additional 3-week loan period. If no other patron has requested a DVD, DVDs may be renewed for one additional 2-week loan period.

During regular library hours, materials may be renewed by phone or by coming to the library. Patrons who obtain a PIN may renew materials, which are not on hold for other patrons, online via the MCPL website.

Library Fines

Books and periodicals fines are assessed at $.10 per day. The maximum fine for each book or periodical is $5.00.

Audio-visual materials fines are assessed at $.25 per day with the maximum limit of $7.50 per item.

Fines will be computed from the due date of return. No fines are charged on Sundays, holidays, emergency closing days, or any day the Middlesex County government offices are closed because of weather.

Patrons must pay the replacement cost for lost or seriously damaged items. After payment, the patron may keep the item.

The fee for replacement of a lost library card is $1.50. Damaged library cards due to normal wear and tear may be replaced at no cost.

  • Urbanna Branch Library
    P.O. Box 189
    150 Grace Street
    Urbanna, VA 23175
    804-758-5717
    Fax: 804-758-5910

    Mon: 10am-5pm
    Tue: 12pm-8pm
    Wed: 10am-5pm
    Thu: 10am-5pm
    Fri: 10am-5pm
    Sat: 10am-2pm
    Sun: Closed

  • Amazon Smile

    Virginia's River Realm Find your Shoreline VirginiasRiverRealm.com

  • Deltaville Branch Library
    35 Lovers Lane
    
Deltaville, VA 23043

    804-776-7362

    Fax: 804-776-7423

    Mon : 10am-8pm

    Tues: 10am-5pm

    Wed: 10am-5pm
    Thu: 1pm-5pm
    
Fri: 10am-5pm

    Sat: 10am-2pm
    Sun: Closed

This site is made possible by a grant from the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services. It is managed by the The Library of Virginia Library Development and Networking Division.